copy files?

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
h1234
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:19 pm

copy files?

Postby h1234 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:31 pm

I have this command:

~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Copy/Move Local Files~
~{1A3957FD-2DD8-4ADB-AFE3-EB50CA46AC68}~
~c:\temp\tmp~
~*.exe~
~C:\IA~
~~
~TRUE~
~FALSE|FALSE~

And it copies nothing. I've changed this around too and it never copies anything.

Copy Local Files c:\temp\tmp\*.* to C:\IACopy Local Files c:\temp\tmp\*.* to C:\IA\*.*\

And I have noticed that IA addess a trailing backslash as you can see from my lines above. My target folder is C:\IA\*.* yet AI adds a trailing backslash.

I've even added the Set 64 Bit Mode and that does not work.

I've done some cool stuff with IA so far, reading files, parsing data from variables, etc..... but I can't copy or install files :-) What am I doing wrong?

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: copy files?

Postby giaviv » Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:18 am

Dear h1234,

A quote from the MSIcode Scripting Technology white-paper:
"no changes are actually made to the target system when a Windows Installer
command executes. You may think of this as InstallAware caching and queuing the command for deferred
execution. The deferred commands are all executed at once when one of the Modify System commands are
called (Apply Install, Apply Advertised, Apply Patch, Apply Uninstall). Apply Install installs the
application, Apply Advertised installs the application in advertised mode, Apply Patch patches a previously
installed application, and Apply Uninstall removes an application."

Therefore, your "Copy Files" wont actually get called until you call Apply Install / Apply changes.
I would really suggest you refer to our white-papers and documentations - not because I am reluctant to help you, on the contrary, because I think it will be a lot more helpful for you!
Again, I am very happy that you have been enjoying InstallAware and we appreciate your interest!

Have a great weekend,
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Support
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

h1234
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:19 pm

Re: copy files?

Postby h1234 » Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:30 am

Yes, I did read what you wrote in the white paper. I have this 1 line of code:

~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Copy/Move Local Files~
~{55B169EC-37A1-4F65-8E0D-4E5CDBC6A4D4}~
~c:\temp~
~test.txt~
~c:\tools~
~~
~TRUE~
~FALSE|FALSE~


I have compiled this and done a Build Singe File.
I then press RUN and it does nothing.
I then locate the actual .EXE located in my RELEASE folder. I double click that .EXE and nothing happens.

so how do you copy a file?

And what really bothers me with this tool is this: I wrote some code to search for a .TXT file, Read the .TXT file and the Parse out 1 worrd from this .TXT file. Once written I compile and do a build single file. I then press the RUN button and it DOES everything I coded. Yet I can't Install a file or copy a file.

so I must be missing something......

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: copy files?

Postby giaviv » Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:57 pm

h1234,

Could you please send your 2 scripts (the read txt file one and the copy file one) to support@installaware.com?

Thanks,
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Support
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

h1234
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:19 pm

Re: copy files?

Postby h1234 » Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:52 pm

Hello. My script is this:

~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Copy/Move Local Files~
~{55B169EC-37A1-4F65-8E0D-4E5CDBC6A4D4}~
~c:\temp~
~test.txt~
~c:\tools~
~~
~TRUE~
~FALSE|FALSE~

That is all I had for the copy package.

I understand that things happen at Runtime but it "can't" be this hard to copy 1 file :-0 All I want to do is copy file1 from "A" to "B". copy/paste your 1 line of code so I can see how you do it.

Thank you!!

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: copy files?

Postby giaviv » Mon Jan 03, 2011 3:16 pm

h1234,

Again, your "Copy Files" wont actually get called until you call Apply Install / Apply changes. Your script doesn't do anything because you didn't call Apply Install..
Drag an Apply Changes command to your script and it will work.

Good luck,
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Support
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

h1234
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:19 pm

Re: copy files?

Postby h1234 » Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:09 pm

Ok, I picked APPLY CHANGES from the drop down dialog, I did a BUILD and then I RUN the script. Nothing gets copied. And I've tried different things in my copy local files command. I've used variables, I've used wildcards etc.... and nothing ever gets copied.
I've added the Set 64-Bit Mode command and within that command I've picked all 3 different options and nothing get's copied.

I must say this is a bit frustrating :)

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: copy files?

Postby giaviv » Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:57 am

h1234,

If that is the case, it's possible that there is a problem with your environment. Please contact support@installaware.com and I will help you from there.

Thanks,
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Support
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: copy files?

Postby giaviv » Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:41 am

Dear h1234,

Please also note that when you set the variable NATIVE_ENGINE to TRUE using the Set Variable command, you will get the same effect as using apply changes (i.e your commands will be immediately executed).

Thanks
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests