Web update - \"User Experience\"

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
glenharvy
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 3:53 am

Web update - \"User Experience\"

Postby glenharvy » Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:49 am

When a user selects the "Check for Updates" shortcut that I created it appears the updater checks for updates OK however the user is presented with no dialogs at all.

If there are no new updates, is the user presented with a dialog or do I need to create one?

Gizm0
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:47 pm

Postby Gizm0 » Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:53 am

No, if no updates are availalbe, the user is not prompted with any dialog.
Panagiotis Kefalidis
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
InstallAware Software Corporation

glenharvy
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 3:53 am

Postby glenharvy » Sat Nov 03, 2007 7:01 am

Not to good - the end user clicks on Update and to them - nothing happens.

Guess I need to write a program that pops up a message.

Is a return code sent by setup.exe /update?

Is there some easy failsafe way of determining where the setup file is located at runtime ?

Gizm0
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:47 pm

Postby Gizm0 » Sun Nov 04, 2007 6:31 am

You didn't understand. If no update is available, there is no dialog, but there is a popup balloon saying that no updates are available.
Panagiotis Kefalidis

Software Design Team Lead

\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"

InstallAware Software Corporation

glenharvy
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 3:53 am

Postby glenharvy » Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:48 am

There's no popup on my user system.

I created a shortcut as follows:

Program: $UNINSTALLLINK$
Command Line: /update

Click the link, my program does something according to TaskManager, no screen interaction at all.

The ini file exists on my webserver and as far as I can see everything else works OK.

PS - The Update works OK when there is an update available. There's just no balloon or anything when there isn't.

Tinus
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:42 am
Location: Germany

Postby Tinus » Mon Nov 05, 2007 11:43 am

Some time ago I modified the update script for IA 6.0. See here:
http://www.installaware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1094

Note: The update script has changed since IA 6.0. Use this as a starting point for own modifications.
Martin Rothschink
InstallAware MVP

AxoNet Software GmbH
http://www.axonet.de/products/other-pro ... stallaware

glenharvy
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 3:53 am

Postby glenharvy » Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:39 pm

Here's what support had to say (just to close this thread on a highlight :)

In the updates script, right after the line that reads:

Get INI $SUPPORTDIR$\\updates.ini, [Update Packs for Versions] $VERSION$ Value into Variable UPDATE_AVAILABLE

you can find the following code:

if Variable UPDATE_AVAILABLE Equals
Terminate Installation
end

That one is the condition that is met when no updates were found. Add a Messagebox or Messageballon before the Terminate Installation to inform the user that no updates were found:

if Variable UPDATE_AVAILABLE Equals
MessageBalloon: No Updates Found, There were no available updates
Terminate Installation
end

Pretty simple if you know a bit about scripting (as I now do :D ).


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests